Will A DWI Affect My Teaching License?

DWI Is Serious!

DWI is one of the most common criminal offenses among teachers. People sometimes think DWIs are small-time offenses that don’t matter. In reality, a DWI charge can have negative consequences for your teaching career. If you have been charged with a DWI, you should seek advice from a lawyer immediately.

What Is DWI?

DWI means Driving While Impaired in North Carolina. It is a misdemeanor ranging from levels 1 to 5. For a Level 5 offense, you can face a $200 fine and up to 60 days in jail. A Level 1 can get you up to two years in jail, and a fine of $4000! The minimum jail sentence for a Level 1 DWI is 30 days, and it cannot be suspended.

If you have 3 DWI charges in the last 7 years, an additional DWI will be a felony. This carries a minimum jail sentence of one year. If you refuse a breathalyzer test or the test shows more than 0.08%, your driver’s license will be suspended. If you are a teacher, this will immediately impact your ability to get to and from work.

What Will Happen To My Career?

A first offense will likely have lesser consequences than a second, third, or fourth DWI. The nature of the offense matters, too. A DWI that occurs at a school event can have a greater impact on a teacher’s career and teaching license.

A teacher who is charged with a crime can be subject to an investigation by the North Carolina State Board of Education. An investigation could result in your teaching license being suspended or revoked. In less serious cases, a teacher can be disciplined in other ways.

Can A DWI Get Dismissed?

A DWI can get dismissed under the right circumstances. For the best chance of getting yours dismissed, you need an experienced attorney. No matter the situation surrounding your DWI case, call a lawyer with experience defending teachers and their licenses.

Call A North Carolina Professional License Defense Law Firm

Remington & Dixon, PLLC has attorneys experienced in North Carolina criminal defense and professional license defense cases. Call us today. We will fight for your teaching career.


Are consultations free?

While we offer a free consultation on traffic matters, criminal matters, and most professional license defense cases, we charge a fee for family law consultations to personalize our consultations to your specific needs. To learn about our fee structure, please get in touch.

Where can I get legal advice?

We recommend meeting with an attorney. While there is free legal help available for North Carolina residents from pro bono resources for civil matters, and public defenders for criminal cases, the best way to access tailored advice is to hire a lawyer.

Can I hire you if I’m in another state?

This is done on a case by case basis if you are involved in a family law, criminal, or professional disciplinary matter that involves another jurisdiction.



"*" indicates required fields

With a Consultation

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.