Are You Facing Criminal Charges for a DWI in North Carolina?

If you’re facing criminal charges for a DWI in North Carolina, especially if this is the first time, you probably have a lot of questions. The North Carolina criminal defense attorneys at Remington & Dixon Law Firm are here to answer them. Following are the most common questions that we get concerning DWI charges in NC.

At What Point Do You Need A North Carolina Criminal Defense Attorney?

If you’ve been charged with a DWI in North Carolina, hiring an attorney should be the first thing that you do. These are serious charges, and you want to make sure that you have the best chance of mitigating the consequences and protecting your rights. You are likely to have your license suspended for 30 days, immediately. However, with the help of an attorney, it will be much easier to request limited driving privileges after ten days.

What Will You End Up Paying for Your DWI Conviction?

There are many different expenses associated with DWI charges and convictions in the state of North Carolina. The following list of associated costs does not include your attorney fees, which will vary, depending on the circumstances of your case and the lawyer you choose.

  • Processing Pre-Trial Limited Driving Privileges: $100 Fee
  • Reissuing Drivers’ License After it is Revoked: $100 Fee to the DMV
  • Fines for Conviction: $100 to $200
  • Court Costs for Conviction: $290
  • Supervised Probation Fees: $480
  • Community Service Fees: $250
  • Substance Abuse Assessment: $100
  • Treatment for Substance Abuse: $160
  • Processing Post-Trial Limited Driving Privileges: $100
  • Increased Insurance Premiums: Around $2,000
  • Total of All Expenses: $3,800 to $4,000

The majority of these expenses will be mandatory. However, your attorney can assist you with calculating the exact costs and minimizing them wherever possible.

What Rights Do You Have When Stopped for Suspicion of DWI?

When you are stopped for suspicion of DWI in North Carolina, you must provide your license and registration, but you do not have to answer any questions. The officer might ask if you know why you were stopped, where you are coming from or going to, and whether or not you’ve been drinking. You do not have to answer these questions. You should politely and respectfully decline to answer those questions, because what you say and how you say it can be used against you by the police and can this can harm your case.

You also have a right to refuse to do the roadside tests that are commonly used to determine whether or not a driver is impaired. You don’t have to do an eye test, walking test,  counting test, alphabet test, or balance test. You also don’t have to do the portable breathalyzer test. Again, you should always politely and respectfully refuse to do these tests.

What Rights Do You Have When Arrested for a DWI?

Once you’ve been arrested for a DWI, you still have the right to refuse to answer questions. You will be read your Miranda rights and asked whether or not you want to waive those rights. If you do waive them, then they can use anything you say or do against you. If you do not, then you are protected by those rights and should not speak to the police until you have spoken with an attorney. However, once you are taken to the police station, you will have to give a breath sample, or else you will have your license suspended for up to one year.

How Can You Hire the Best Criminal Defense Attorney in North Carolina?

Because DWI charges in North Carolina are such a serious situation and can drastically change your life, it is important to hire the best criminal defense attorney in North Carolina for your case. Keep in mind that a conviction could result in negative background checks, impair your employment potential, and cost you a significant amount of money. You need an attorney who is experienced with defending clients against DWI charges and who can secure the best possible outcome for your case. Contact the attorneys at Remington & Dixon Law Firm as soon as possible after you’ve been arrested and/or charged with a DWI. We’re here to make sure that your rights are protected and that you achieve the best possible outcome in your DWI case.


Are consultations free?

While we offer a free consultation on traffic matters, criminal matters, and most professional license defense cases, we charge a fee for family law consultations to personalize our consultations to your specific needs. To learn about our fee structure, please get in touch.

Where can I get legal advice?

We recommend meeting with an attorney. While there is free legal help available for North Carolina residents from pro bono resources for civil matters, and public defenders for criminal cases, the best way to access tailored advice is to hire a lawyer.

Can I hire you if I’m in another state?

This is done on a case by case basis if you are involved in a family law, criminal, or professional disciplinary matter that involves another jurisdiction.



"*" indicates required fields

With a Consultation

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.